Formula One Champions | Alain Prost | Ayrton Senna | Nelson Piquet| Niki Lauda | Keke Rosberg | Alan Jones | || Skip Website Content...

All Formula One Team Information
Winner Nelson Piquet (BRA) Williams FW11B. Italian Grand Prix, Monza, 6 September 1987
Formula One Champions
  Nelson Piquet `s Profile
Formula One
Formula 1 Logo
8, Place de la Concorde
75008 Paris
World @ Sutton  
Web Address
Tel 33 1 43 12 44 55
Nelson Piquet`s Racing Record
Nelson Piquet (BRA) Formula One World Championship 1989
World @ Sutton
Nelson Piquet`s Helmet image
World @ Sutton
Date of birth 17 August 1952
Place of Birth Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Active Years 1978 - 1991
Grand Prix Debut 1978 German GP
World Titles 3 (1981, 1983, 1987)
Grand Prix Wins 23
Pole Positions 24
Fastest Laps 23
N0. of Podiums 60
Total career points 481.5 (485.5)
Races competed 207 (204 starts)
Piquet was born in Rio de Janeiro, then the capital of Brazil, the son of Estácio Gonçalves Souto Maior, a Brazilian politician. His father moved his family to the new capital, Brasília, in 1960 and became Minister for Health in João Goulart's government (1961–64). Piquet started kart racing at the age of 14, but because his father did not approve of his racing career, he used his mother's maiden name Piquet (of French origin and pronounced as "Pee-Kè") misspelt as Piket to hide his identity. After participating in Brazilian go-karting (1971 and 1972 national champion) and in the local Formula Super Vee 1976 championship, on the advice of Emerson Fittipaldi, the first Brazilian Formula One world champion who sold the chassis for the Brazilian Formula Vee champion car with his brother, he arrived in European motor sports hailed as a prodigy. In the 1978 British Formula 3 season he broke Jackie Stewart's record of the most wins in a season, and his promotion to Formula One heralded the start of a long and successful career. Together with the Brabham team, including team boss Bernie Ecclestone and chief designer Gordon Murray, he became a consistent challenger for the world title, and was the first driver to win the F1 title with a turbo engine in 1983.
The Formula One World Drivers' Championship (WDC) is awarded by the Fédération Internationale de l'Automobile (FIA) to the most successful Formula One racing car driver over a season, as determined by a points system based on Grand Prix results. The Drivers' Championship was first awarded in 1950, to Nino Farina. The first driver to win multiple Championships was Alberto Ascari, in 1952 and 1953. The current Drivers' Champion is Sebastian Vettel, who won his first World Championship in 2010.
1st Jacques Laffite (FRA), Ligier, centre. 2nd Rene Arnoux (FRA), Renault, right. 3rd Nelson Piquet (BRA), Brabham, left. Austrian Grand Prix, Rd11, Osterreichring, Austria, 16 August 1981. BEST IMAGE
Niki Lauda (AUT) McLaren MP4 2, DNF. Monaco GP, Monte Carlo, 3 June 1984
Nelson Piquet (BRA), Brabham BT49C, retired after going off track on lap 43. Spanish Grand Prix, Rd7, Jarama, Spain, 21 June 1981. BEST IMAGE
Keke Rosberg (FIN), Fittipaldi F7, finished third. Argentine Grand Prix, Rd1, Buenos Aires, Argentina, 13 January 1980. BEST IMAGE
World @ Sutton
Keke Rosberg
Alan Jones
World @ Sutton
World @Moy/Sutton
Nelson Piquet (BRA) Benetton B191, retired after a first lap accident. Monaco Grand Prix, Monte-Carlo, 12 May 1991
World @Klynsmith/ Sutton
  Alain Prost  
Ayrton Senna
Nelson Piquet
Niki Lauda
  Nelson Piquet (BRA) Benetton B191 inherited victory two-thirds of the way around the final lap of the race. Canadian Grand Prix, Montreal, 2 June 1991.  
Season Series Team Pos
1991 Formula 1 Camel Benetton Ford 6th
1990 Formula 1 Benetton Formula 3rd
1989 Formula 1 Camel Team Lotus 3rd
1988 Formula 1 Camel Team Lotus Honda 6th
1987 Formula 1 Canon Williams Team 1st
1986 Formula 1 Canon Williams Team 3rd
1985 Formula 1 Motor Racing Developments Ltd 8th
1984 Formula 1 MRD International (Brabham) 14th
1983 Formula 1 Fila Sport (Brabham) 1st
1982 Formula 1 Parmalat Racing Team 11th
1981 Formula 1 Parmalat Racing Team 1st
1980 Formula 1 Parmalat Racing Team 2nd
1979 Formula 1 Parmalat Racing Team 14th
1978 Formula 1 Parmalat Racing Team N/C
  Formula 1 BS Fabrications N/C
  Race winner Nelson Piquet (BRA) Williams Honda FW11B. Formula One World Championship, Rd11, Italian Grand Prix, Monza, 6 September 1987.  
  Nelson Piquet (BRA), Brabham BT49C, made an error of judgement on the 54th lap and crashed into the barrier at Tabac. Monaco Grand Prix, Rd6, Monte Carlo, Monaco, 31 May 1981. BEST IMAGE  
Image Gallery
Mark Webber Red Bull Formula One Team Valencia Formula One Grand Prix
Luca Badoer (ITA) Ferrari F60. Formula One World Championship, Rd 12, Belgian Grand Prix, Practice Day, Spa-Francorchamps, Belgium, Friday 28 August 2009.
Images World @ Sutton


Nigel Mansell (GBR) Williams FW11, 4th place. Monaco Grand Prix, Monte Carlo, 11 May 1986
First Nigel Mansell (GBR) Ferrari. Hungarian Grand Prix, Hungaroring, Budapest, Hungary, 13 August 1989.
Damon Hill (GBR) Jordan J198 Mugen-Honda in the pit garage. Belgian Grand Prix, Spa-Francorchamps, Belgium, 30 August 1998.
Formula One Teams Homepage
Formula One Team Chatroom
Formula One Guestbook
  Home of Formula One Teams           ©2003